Planet Diversity World Congress on the Future of Food and Agriculture

Who is behind it ?

The Local Organising Committee

A committee of the following organisations, based in Germany, will make this event happen GENET (European NGO network on genetic engineering, 50 members), GREENPEACE, FRIENDS OF THE EARTH, IFOAM (Int. Federation of Organic Agricultural Movements), ABL (Family Farmers Union, member of Via Campesina), Protestant Church Development Service (Evangelischer Entwicklungsdienst - EED), Initiative for GE-free Seeds and Breeding (IG Saatgut), Gene-ethic Network and VERN, Save Our Seeds (Foundation on Future Farming), Federation of German Scientists, German NGO Forum on Environment and Development and Heinrich Böll Foundation.

The International Advisory Committee

An International Advisory Committee comprised of the following organisations and personalities from around the world to ensure that the agenda is truly representative of the global reality.


Juan Lopez Villar, Friends of the Earth International, Angola

Pat Mooney, ETC Group, Canada

Louise Luttikholt, IFOAM, Germany

Anna Gyorgy, Women and Life on Earth, Germany

Vandana Shiva, International Commission on the Future of Food, India

Jan van Aken, Greenpeace International, Netherlands

Helena Norberg-Hodge, International Society for Ecology and Culture, ISEC, United Kingdom

Natalia Caruso, MADRE, USA

Monica Aleman, International Indigenous Women Forum, USA


Meriem Louanchi, AREA-ED Association de Réflexion, d'Échanges et d'Actions pour l'Environnement et le Développement, Algeria

Sue Edwards, Institute for Sustainable Development, Ethiopia

Ibrahim Ouedraogo, COPAGEN, Ivory Coast

Mamadou Goita, IRPAD, Forum Nyeleni, Mali

Mamadou Lamine Coulibaly, représentant des Organisations productirces de bananes auprès de la Coordination Nationale des Organisations Paysannes du Mali, Mali

Mariam Mayet, African Centre for Biosafety, South Africa

Leslie Lidell, BioWatch Southafrica, South Africa

Marjorie Chola Chonya, Participatory Ecological Land Use Management, PELUM, Zambia

Andrew Mushita, Community Technology Development Trust, Zimbabwe

Cathy Rutivi, Consumers International Africa, Zimbabwe


Chee Yoke Ling, Third World Network, China

Sze Ping Lo, Greenpeace China, China

P.V. Satheesh, Deccan Development Society, India

Karsten Wolff, THANAL, India

Ryoko Shimizu, Seikatsu Club Consumers' Co-operative Union, Japan

Indrani Thuraisingham, Consumers International Asia, Malaysia

Agnes Lintao, SEARICE, Philippines

Witoon Lianchamroon, Biothai, Thailand


Scott Kinnear, Biological Farmers of Australia, Australia

Claire Bleakley, GE Free New Zealand, New Zealand

Simon Terry, Sustainability Council of New Zealand, New Zealand


Dominique Guillet, Kokopelli Seed Foundation, France

Giorgi Maghradze, GMO free Caucasus, Georgia

Christine von Weizsäcker, Federation of German Scientists, Germany

Hartmut Meyer, GENET, European NGO Network on Genetic Engineering, Germany

Edith van Walsum, ILEIA Centre for Information on Low External Input and Sustainable Agriculture, Netherlands

Florianne Koechlin, Blauen-Institut, and Swiss Working Group on GMOs (SAG), Switzerland

Jean-Louis Gueydon, Fondation pour une Terre Humaine, Switzerland


Georgina Catacora, Tierra Viva, Bolivia

Gabriel Fernandes, Assessoria e Serviços a Projetos em Agricultura Alternativa, AS-PTA, Brasil

Maria Isabel Manzur, Fundacion Sociedades Sustentables, Chile

Elisabeth Bravo, Red por una América Latina Libre de Tansgénicos, RALLT, Ecuador

Felipe Iniguez Perez, Movimiento Agroecologico de América Latina y el Caribe, MAELA, Mexico


Percy Schmeiser, Schmeiser Enterprises Ltd., Canada

Beth Burrows, Edmonds Institute, USA

Andrew Kimbrell, Center for Food Safety, USA

George Naylor, National Family Farmers Coalition, USA

Brian Tokar, GMO Free Vermont, USA

Who is behind it?Qui sommes-nous?Wer steckt dahinter?¿Quien organiza?

Local Organising Committee